Products I Regret Buying

Hi my loves! Today is a blog post that’s discussing some of my least favorite products in the beauty world. Although I love writing positive reviews on products and I have been very successful with many of the products I’ve tried, every once and a while I purchase a few products that just didn’t work for me. If they work for you, I’m insanely jealous. However for me, they’re just not my favorites.

Elf Highlighter in Moonlight Pearls

Image result for elf moonlight pearls highlighter

This highlighter is insanely inexpensive, so I wish that it worked for me but it hasn’t. It’s only about $3 at Target, which probably explains the lack of color pay-off but I just found this product hard to work with and I find myself never really reaching for it.

MAC Eye Kohl in Smolder

I tried to love this product, because I have been a fan of MAC for years, but I just couldn’t get into it. I’ve seen and read so many reviews and videos about this product saying that it’s the best eyeliner they’ve ever tried, but I’m not crazy about pencil liners for my waterline. I find that they dry up quickly and tug too much at my waterline. For $17, this product was not worth it when I could find a drugstore dupe for much less.

Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette

Don’t get me wrong here, I love the Naked palettes by Urban Decay. However, I thought for traveling it would be convenient to buy the Naked Basics palette because I didn’t want to have to lug around the original palette everywhere I went and risk breaking the shadows. However, I wish UD picked better shades for their basics palette because these really don’t do much for me. With my skin tone, the first three shades can really only be used as a highlight and Naked 2 and Faint are basically transition shades. I love how dark the black shade is, but I hardly ever use black shadow for my looks so I just felt that this palette was kind of a waste for me. I wish they would have picked better colors from the original palette to create this one.

Milk Makeup Ubame Mascara

I think that Milk Makeup is an amazing up and coming brand, and I love products like their Blur and Holographic Stick. However, this mascara just didn’t work too well for me. I found this mascara to be too build-able, to the point where it took several coats just to get my lashes at medium level. If you prefer natural lashes you might have better luck, but for someone who likes dramatic mascaras there are many better ones to choose from at Sephora instead.

CHI 44 Iron Guard

Image result for chi 44 iron guard

I have been through the ringer with heat protector sprays because I can never find one that I truly love. Unfortunately for the CHI 44 Iron Guard, it falls into the not so great category. I find that this product makes me hair feel sticky after spraying it, which is exactly what I don’t want if I’m trying to create smooth locks. I like the thickness of the spray because I feel like it’s actually coating the hair instead of just coming out as a light mist, but I think the formula could be better.

Tresemme Hairspray

Image result for tresemme hair spray

Hairsprays are another product that I have tried a million of, and can never find the right one. This hairspray is inexpensive, but it leaves my hair frizzy and stiff even when I chose flexible hold hairspray. I’ve also heard Tresemme products are bad for the hair so needless to say, I will not be repurchasing.

Neutrogena Make-Up Remover Wipes

Image result for neutrogena wipes

I bought this Mini-Pack of wipes so that I could bring them on the go with me, because there is nothing I hate more than when my make-up starts feeling uncomfortable after a long day. However, these wipes are not the best formula for my skin because they tend to burn especially around the eye area. I know it’s not good to use make-up wipes around the eye area, but I have tried many that don’t leave my skin irritated after.

These are my only un-favorites that I have tried recently, which is actually pretty great considering how many beauty products I tend to try quite frequently. As always, I hope you all enjoy this blog post and I will see you all on Thursday for another one. I just finished my last final yesterday, so Happy Summer Break! 🙂

xoxo

Melissa

Leave a comment