Is it Worth the Hype? ABH Modern Renaissance Palette

Hi my loves! Today I wanted to start a new series on my blog called “Is it worth the hype?” where I review products that are obsessed over in the beauty community and give you all my honest review with swatches. Today I’m talking about the ABH Modern Renaissance Palette that I have spoken about on my blog before. Everyone in the beauty world owns this palette, and it has been insanely popular since it came out months ago. I’m going to give you all an in-depth review where I share all the information on this must-have eyeshadow palette.

Packaging:

abh.jpg

While this palette is a beauty for not only it’s shades but it’s packaging, I do wish that the outside wasn’t a suede texture. The reason being is that it gets dirty EASILY so you have to be careful when you’re using the colors or swatching them. However, the packaging is sturdy and comes with a mirror which I can appreciate, and you can always save the unicarton like I did for traveling in case you’re afraid the palette might smash.

The Shadows:

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

With Flash

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Without Flash

So the part everyone is the most fascinated with is obviously the shadows, which is my favorite part as well. In terms of pigmentation, I absolutely love the velvety smooth texture of these shadows along with the color variety. This palette has nice neutral and warm rose colored tones that compliment my eyes and skintone well. I really feel inspired when I look at this palette to create looks because of the variety yet unity that you get with these shades, which makes me love it so much. If I look at a palette and I think “meh”, I’m probably not going to want to experiment and create an eyeshadow look. This palette though, makes me excited to do my make-up because of all the gorgeous color combinations.

Swatches:

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Top Row/Shades From L to R: Tempera, Golden Ochre, Vermeer, Buon Fresco, Antique Bronze, Love Letter, & Cyprus Umber

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Bottom Row/Shades from L to R: Raw Sienna, Burnt Orange, Primavera, Red Ochre, Venetian Red, Warm Taupe & Realgar

Image result for modern renaissance palette

Swatches from a HD Camera

The Verdict:

I think that for $42, this palette is extremely worth it. Aside from the sometimes messy packaging, this palette is absolutely beautiful and the shades are so pigmented and buttery in texture that they are a dream to work with. This palette also comes with a full mirror and an eyeshadow brush, which are both great in quality. I think compared to some of the other shadow palettes that are pricer, like the Sweet Peach Palette for example, this palette is so much more worth it.

Is it worth the hype? YES

I hope you all enjoyed today’s blog post and I will see you all on Sunday ❤

xoxo

Melissa

2 thoughts on “Is it Worth the Hype? ABH Modern Renaissance Palette

Leave a Reply

