Step by Step Make-Up Tutorial: Casual Day in the City

Hi my loves! Earlier this week, I was in New York City for an album release party for one of my favorite rappers: Logic. I had such a fun day, the weather was beautiful, and I love any excuse to go to NYC. Since I did a little bit more than the average girl probably would when going to the city, just because I love doing my make-up, if you decide to try out this make-up look yourself you can absolutely tweak it to your own personal preferences. I just thought I would share my make-up look and how I achieved it 🙂 I would also love to start showing you guys more in-depth make-up tutorials where I actually explain where each product goes and how I apply it, instead of just listing the products as usual, so let me know if you prefer it this way! Enjoy xo

The Look: With Artificial & Natural Lighting

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with m3 preset

Products Used

Eyes:

To begin, I used the Urban Decay Primer Potion to prep the lids. Then, I started off with the ABH Modern Renaissance Palette and used the shade “Tempera” for an all over the lid shadow. Next, I used the color “Raw Sienna” as my transition, and ended with “Cyprus Umber” for the crease. For liner, I used the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in “Trooper” followed by the Covergirl SuperSizer Mascara for the lashes. For an inner corner highlight/brown bone highlight, I used a pinch of “Primavera” from ABH’s Modern Renaissance Palette.

Face:

Starting with Primer, I used the Too Faced Hangover RX with a dash of the NYX Liquid Face Illuminator. For Foundation I used the Elf Flawless Finish Foundation in the Color “Sand” along with the NARS Creamy Concealer in “Custard”. I blended both out with my Beauty Blender and topped it off with a little bit of Setting Mist from ELF. To set the face further, I used the Sephora  8HR Mattifying Powder in the color “Walnut”. To add some dimension, I contoured my cheeks with the Kat Von D Shade & Light Palette with the Medium Shade on the Contour Side. For Highlight, I used the Glow Kit by ABH and dusted my cheeks with the color “Summer”.

Eyebrows:

For brows, my routine is pretty simple. All I did was comb them out with a spooly from Anastasia and then added some of the Anastasia Brow Powder in Ebony with an angled brow brush also from ABH. To set them, I used the Sephora Brow Gel (Which I have been loving in the place of my ABH Brow Gel since I ran out recently).

Lips:

Finally, I lined my lips with the Huda Beauty Lip Contour Matte Pencil in “Trophy Wife”. Then, I applied the Maybeline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lipstick in the shade “Lust for Blush”.

As always, thank you all for reading today’s blog post. I want to start posting more now that I am on Summer Vacation so expect a different blogging schedule coming soon! ❤

xoxo

Melissa

2 thoughts on “Step by Step Make-Up Tutorial: Casual Day in the City

Leave a Reply

