5 Girl Power Books You Need To Read Right Now

Hi my loves! Today, I’m blogging about my current five favorite novels. I’m a huge bookworm, but lately I’ve been obsessing over some female writers (including one amazing male) with some seriously amazing work. For all my lady readers out there, I hope you enjoy these suggestions and I hope they inspire you in the way that they have inspired me 🙂

#GirlBoss by Sophia Amoruso

Image result for girl boss sophia amoruso

The first thing I have to say about this book is that if you’re a female looking to head into the fashion industry, or any business field for that matter, buy this book TODAY. I myself am an aspiring fashion journalist and this book literally kicked my ass into thinking more deeply about my future and how there are so many ways to achieve your goals, so fuck the social norms. Miss Amoruso was practically homeless and is now the CEO of Nasty Gal, an online clothing store worth millions. So, if you’re going through a rough patch right now, give this book a go and I promise you will laugh, feel inspired, and feel like a Girl Boss.

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

Image result for not that kind of girl

I know that Lena Dunham got lots of flack for the content she wrote in this book, but honestly I find this book absolutely hilarious. Dunham is so honest and candid with her writing that it speaks to me in the most relate-able way. She writes about everything from boys to body image and much more. This is the only book that I haven’t finished reading because I’m currently reading it at the moment but I can already tell that it’s going to be one of my favorites, and I’m only 50 pages deep! If you want to laugh, please read this book. It will make you giddy with how blatantly real the author is and the fact that she speaks about the girl problems that we all seem to have, makes you feel like you’re reading a diary from an older sister and note a famous actress/activist/writer/etc.

Milk & Honey by Rupi Kaur

Image result for milk & honey book

This is probably my favorite book of the bunch. If there’s one book you absolutely have to read from this list: it’s this one. It is mainly poetry, but if that’s not your style don’t count this one out just yet. I read this poetry book in one sitting on a plane to Cancun, Mexico last summer and I was trying not to smile and cry at the same time whilst on this flight. This book really touched my soul. Kaur is an incredible poet, writer, and woman. I can’t even put into words how much I loved this book. It completely opened my eyes to my own feelings, I was reading it and nodding my head throughout the entire book because I was like wow.. this woman gets it. Her poems and short stories are beautiful and so touching. The four sectors that this book are divided into are so amazing in their own ways, I could see myself re-reading this poetry book over and over. I highly recommend purchasing this book, running a bath, and devouring each word.

The Collected Poems by Sylvia Path

Image result for the collected poems sylvia plath

I first discovered Sylvia Plath earlier this year, which is extremely late I understand. I had to read her poem “Daddy” for my College Writing II class and I fell in love. I then went on to purchase her poetry book and have been reading bits here and there because it’s quite hefty. The thing I love most about collected poetry works is that I can read this book over a period of time and not feel the pressure to finish it quickly because each poem is a story in it’s own. In my opinion, Plath is the pioneer of confessionalism poetry, meaning that she has started a movement of writing about her own personal experiences but formulating it into poetry. Her poems are haunting but beautiful and Plath is a literary genius. I consider her the epitome of female poetry. If I could meet any dead person for coffee, I think Sylvia Plath would be my choice aside from Jim Morrison, Kurt Cobain, and Jimi Hendrix.

Bitter Sweet Love by Michael Faust

Image result for bitter sweet love

This book is written by a man, which I love. If there’s a writer that can capture female feelings well while not even being that gender, he’s a winner in my  book. Bitter Sweet Love is a sequel to Dirty Pretty Things, which I actually haven’t read yet but if it’s anything like BSL I will be obsessed. This book captures love, relationships, and I found myself relating to it immensely. It really captured how many of us feel about love, but the fact that it’s written by a male makes it even more satisfying to know that those feelings that us women feel, don’t get unnoticed by men. This is another book to heat up the bath water, light candles, and indulge.

Finally, I want to leave you all with this quote:

“Keep good company, read good books, love good things and cultivate soul and body as faithfully as you can.” -Louisa May Alcott

xoxo

Melissa

Leave a Reply

